Home Featured News List News

Congratulations to the awardees of the 2024 Carbon Future Young Investigator Award


It is our great pleasure to announce and congratulate the awardees of the 2024 Carbon Future Young Investigator Award. The aim of this award is to encourage outstanding doctoral students or postdoctoral researchers in the fields of carbon materials, carbon catalysis, energy, and chemical engineering.

Since the initiation of the event, we have received 139 outstanding nominations of young researchers from around the world. Following a meticulous screening and unbiased review process by the editorial board, we have identified 10 recipients of the Carbon Future Young Researcher Award, along with 30 recipients of the Honorable Mention Award. Not only have they made significant contributions in their respective research areas, but they have also demonstrated exceptional scientific potential and innovative capabilities in carbon-related science and technology fields. Throughout the evaluation process, we have deeply felt the vital influence of advisors on the growth of young researchers. Therefore, we take this opportunity to specifically acknowledge advisors who have provided excellent guidance and support to young researchers.

List of awardees for the 2024 Carbon Future Young Investigator Award:




Yingjie Fan

University of Chicago, USA

Prof. Wenbin Lin

Xianbiao Fu

Technical University of Denmark, Denmark

Prof. Yijin Kang

Mei-Yan Gao

University of California Berkeley, USA

Prof. Omar M. Yaghi

Chan Woo Lee

Institute for Basic Science, Korea

Prof. Taeghwan Hyeon

Jing Li

Yale University, USA

Prof. Qi Lu

Guo Tian

Tsinghua University, China

Prof. Fei Wei

Zhenhua Xie

Columbia University, USA

Prof. Jingguang G. Chen

Jiarui Yang

Tsinghua University, China

Prof. Dingsheng Wang

Qingxin Yang

ETH Zürich, Switzerland

Prof. Evgenii V. Kondratenko

Peng Zhu

Rice University, USA

Prof. Haotian Wang

(Sort by surname order)

List of the 2024 Carbon Future Young Investigator Honorable Mention Award:




Gabriella P. Bein

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA

Prof. Jillian Dempsey

Yuehan Cao

SouthWest Petroleum University, China

Prof. Ying Zhou

Yi Cheng

Rice University, USA

Prof. James M. Tour

Jiyu Cui

Zhejiang University, China

Prof. Huabin Xing

Jie Ding

University of Hong Kong, China

Prof. Bin Liu

Yingzheng Fan

University of Chicago, USA

Prof. Lea R. Winter

Michael Filippi

Technische Universität Berlin, Germany

Prof. Peter Strasser

Feiyue Gao

The University of Adelaide, Australia

Prof. Yao Zheng

Xiaohu Ge

East China University of Science and Technology, China

Prof. Weikang Yuan and Prof. Xuezhi Duan

Runnan Guan

Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology, Korea

Prof. Jong-Beom Baek

Xun Guan

Stanford University, USA

Prof. Chong Liu

Qinyuan Jiang

Tsinghua University, China

Prof. Rufan Zhang

Yuqi Li

Stanford University, USA

Prof. Yong-Sheng Hu

Xu Liu

Nanjing University, China

Prof. Yan Zhu

Minghao Liu

University of Nottingham Ningbo; Shanghai Advanced Research Institute, China

Prof. Qing Xu

Jee Yung Park

Purdue University, USA

Prof. Letian Dou

Liang Peng

City University of Hong Kong, China

Prof. Dongyuan Zhao

Yu Peng

East China University of Science and Technology, China

Prof. Huagui Yang

Aditya Prajapati

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA

Prof. Chris Hahn

Zhenyu Shi

City University of Hong Kong, China

Prof. Hua Zhang

Luye Sun

TongJi University, China

Prof. Wei Xu

Huifeng Tian

Peking University, China

Prof. Lei Liu

Hai Wang

Zhejiang University, China

Prof. Fengshou Xiao

Daiwei Wang

Pennsylvania State University, USA

Prof. Donghai Wang

Mingrui Wu

Zhejiang University, China

Prof. Hao Bai

Pengpeng Yang

Anhui University; University of Science and Technology of China

Prof. Shikuo Li and Prof. Minrui Gao

Shijie Yu

National University of Singapore, Singapore

Prof. Ning Yan

Xiaoran Zhang

City University of Hong Kong, China

Prof. San Ping Jiang

Siqi Zhao

Aarhus University, Denmark

Prof. Kim Daasbjerg

Jiahui Zhou

Beijing Institute of Technology, China

Prof. Feng Wu

(Sort by surname order)

Each awardee of the Carbon Future Young Researcher Award will receive a certificate and a prize of $1000 provided by Tsinghua University Press. Each awardee will be invited to submit a paper related to their research to Carbon Future to share their scientific findings and insights. Honorable Mention Award recipients will be granted a certificate and a gift from the journal. All the winners will be invited to participate in the International Symposium on Carbon Future (CF 2024), where they will present their research and engage in discussions with global scientists to explore the future directions of carbon science.

We extend our heartfelt congratulations to all the awardees and look forward to their continued success and accomplishments in their future research endeavors. Additionally, we hope that this award will inspire more young researchers to immerse themselves in carbon-related research, collectively advancing the sustainable development of global carbon science.